Press This | Buzz Blog

Wednesday, June 29, 2011

Press This

Posted By on June 29, 2011, 2:25 PM

  • Pin It
Slowtrain Records announces its sophomore release: the Provo crooners Desert Noises.---

The three-piece indie band’s upcoming full-length, Mountain Sea, is a more concerted rock effort than their debut self-titled EP, released in 2009 when they graduated from high school. They and their sound have matured. In a recent feature on the band, vocalist/guitarist Kyle Henderson described the new record as “less dreamy and more beat-driven” with “a lot of really cool drum parts.””

The release of Mountain Sea will be a collaborative effort between Northplatte Records—the band’s home label—and Slowtrain Records. Slowtrain is responsible for the limited-edition vinyl pressing.

“Joshua James [Northplatte co-founder] came to us because the band wanted a vinyl release,” says Slowtrain Records co-founder Anna Brozek, adding that Slowtrain Records—an extension of the independently owned record shop Slowtrain, at 221 E. Broadway—wanted to have a local release anyway.

Slowtrain’s debut was the mystical storytelling of Portland-based avant garde artists and musician Alexis Gideon on Video Musics II: Sun Wu-Kong. With this esoteric, out-of-state release behind them, Brozek says they were looking for a change. “We wanted to do something a lot different, to not get pigeonholed in any particular genre,” she says.

It also made sense logistically. Northplatte has never released an LP before, and there is a steep learning curve involved. “We did a lot of research before Alexis’ record and have made a bunch of contacts in the industry. There’s a different lingo and different time lines involved, that we are more aware of,” Brozek says.

In a press release, Slowtrain touted the release’s artsy look: “Physical vibrations of sound will be pressed into the tightly-wound spiral grooves on both sides of a stunning white vinyl platter in an art-adorned paperboard sleeve suitable for framing.”

The Mountain Sea vinyl LP is available for pre-order at $19.99 and includes free admission to the all-ages pre-release show at Slowtrain on Friday, July 15, at 8 p.m, which will be $5 otherwise. Both the CD and LP are slated for a September 6 release date. CW

"New Man" from the 2009 EP Desert Noises

Tags: , ,

On Topic...

More by Austen Diamond

Latest in Buzz Blog

© 2021 Salt Lake City Weekly

Website powered by Foundation