Summer TV 2011 

Three months, 57 TV premieres

click to enlarge Wilfred - FX
  • FX
  • Wilfred

Of this summer’s nearly 100(!) returning and debuting TV series, the most important occurs Thursday, June 23, on FX: the debut of the new Elijah Wood comedy Wilfred (wherein Wood pals around with a sociopath in a furry suit whom everyone else just sees as a dog) and the Season 2 premiere of Louie (comedian Louis C.K.’s darker twist on Curb Your Enthusiasm). Why so important? Because The Only TV Column That Matters™ will be hosting a big-screen premiere showing of Wilfred and Louie at Brewvies (677 S. 200 West, 21-plus) that night at 8 p.m., followed by a top-secret special comedy surprise. It’s free, there’s beer and I’ll probably be giving away some crap—I know, it sells itself.

Some of the rest of the new summer TV (most of which will be reviewed here as they arrive):

June

The Glee Project (Oxygen; Sunday, June 12) Series debut.

The Protector (Lifetime; Sunday, June 12) Series debut.

Keeping Up With the Kardashians (E!; Sunday, June 12) Season 6 premiere.

Ice Loves Coco (E!; Sunday, June 12) Series debut.

Memphis Beat (TNT; Tuesday, June 14) Season 2 premiere.

Hawthorne (TNT; Tuesday, June 14) Season 3 premiere.

Gene Simmons’ Family Jewels (A&E; Tuesday, June 14) Season 6 premiere.

The Nine Lives of Chloe King (ABC Family; Tuesday, June 14) Series debut.

Pretty Little Liars (ABC Family; Tuesday, June 14) Season 2 premiere.

Jon Benjamin Has a Van (Comedy Central; Tuesday, June 14) Series debut.

Jon Benjamin Has a Van Spring 2011
Preview - You Can't Shoot Here
www.comedycentral.com
Comedy Central TV Shows Comedy Videos

Hot in Cleveland (TV Land; Wednesday, June 15) Season 2 summer premiere.

Happily Divorced (TV Land; Wednesday, June 15) Series debut.

Outcasts (BBC America; Saturday, June 18) Series debut.

The Inbetweeners (BBC America; Saturday, June 18) Season 3 premiere.

Come Fly With Me (BBC America; Saturday, June 18) Series debut.

Falling Skies (TNT; Sunday, June 19) Series debut.

Mongo Wrestling Alliance (Adult Swim; Sunday, June 19) Season 2 premiere.

Countdown With Keith Olbermann (Current; Monday, June 20) New network premiere.

Combat Hospital (ABC; Tuesday, June 21) Series debut.

Expedition Impossible (ABC; Thursday, June 23) Series debut.

Rookie Blue (ABC; Thursday, June 23) Season 2 premiere.

Wilfred (FX; Thursday, June 23) Series debut.

Louie (FX; Thursday, June 23) Season 2 premiere.

Burn Notice (USA; Thursday, June 23) Season 5 premiere.

Suits (USA; Thursday, June 23) Series debut.

Futurama (Comedy Central; Thursday, June 23) Season 6 summer premiere.

Commercial Kings (IFC; Friday, June 24) Series debut.

Young, Broke & Beautiful (IFC; Friday, June 24) Series debut.

True Blood (HBO; Sunday, June 26) Season 4 premiere.

Leverage (TNT; Sunday, June 26) Season 4 premiere.

Weeds (Showtime; Monday, June 27) Season 7 premiere.

The Big C (Showtime; Monday, June 27) Season 2 premiere.

Love in the Wild (NBC; Wednesday, June 29) Series debut.

Necessary Roughness (USA; Wednesday, June 29) Series debut.

Royal Pains (USA; Wednesday, June 29) Season 3 premiere.

Ugly Americans (Comedy Central; Thursday, June 30) Season 2 premiere.

July

Big Brother (CBS; Thursday, July 7) Season 13 premiere.

Torchwood: Miracle Day (Starz; Friday, July 8) Season 4 premiere.

Curb Your Enthusiasm (HBO; Sunday, July 10) Season 8 premiere.

Eureka (Syfy; Monday, July 11) Season 4 premiere.

Warehouse 13 (Syfy; Monday, July 11) Season 3 premiere.

Alphas (Syfy; Monday, July 11) Series Debut.

The Bad Girls Club (Oxygen; Monday, July 11) Season 7 premiere.

The Closer (TNT; Monday, July 11) Season 7 premiere.

Rizzoli & Isles (TNT; Monday, July 11) Season 2 premiere.

Rescue Me (FX; Wednesday, July 13) Season 7 premiere.

Damages (DirecTV; Wednesday, July 13) Season 4 premiere.

Haven (Syfy; Friday, July 15) Season 2 premiere.

Breaking Bad (AMC; Sunday, July 17) Season 4 premiere.

Web Therapy (Showtime; Tuesday, July 19) Series debut.

NTSF:SD:SUV (Adult Swim; Thursday, July 21) Series debut.

Entourage (HBO; Sunday, July 24) Season 8 premiere.

August

Whisker Wars (IFC; Friday, Aug. 5) Series debut.

The Bachelor Pad (ABC; Monday, Aug. 8) Season 2 premiere.

Karaoke Battle USA (ABC; Monday, Aug. 8) Series debut.

The Great Food Truck Race (Food Network; Sunday, Aug. 14) Series debut.

The Lying Game (ABC Family; Monday, Aug. 15) Series Debut.

Pin It
Favorite

Speaking of...

More by Bill Frost

Latest in True TV

Comments

Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

© 2014 Salt Lake City Weekly

Website powered by Foundation