citylog
The E-
Edition:
CW
page
by page

Tumblr.jpg Google_Plus.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Music Blog

Red Butte Garden full concert lineup announced

by Austen Diamond
- Posted // 2012-04-10 - What do Wilco, Al Green, Andrew Bird and Bonnie Raitt have in common? Not much except they are part of the full lineup of 26 concerts announced today.

Red Butte Garden, the “Best Outdoor Concerts/Events” (2012 City Weekly Best of Utah award) is hosting more shows than ever before -- up five from last year’s record-setting 21. And there are a mix of familiar faces (Brandi Carlile, Steve Martin, Michael Franti), some absolute gems (see above) and enough sonic goodness to sate even the thirstiest summer concertgoer.

Here's the full lineup. Full and partial season-ticket packages go on sale on April 23. Tickets go on sale for Red Butte Garden members April 30, and for the general public on May 7. To scope prices, check out the Red Butte Garden website.

Monday, May 28
The Shins w/ The Head & the Heart, Blind Pilot

The Shins’ “Rifle Spiral”

Tuesday, May 29
Bon Iver w/ The Staves

Sunday, June 3
Sheryl Crow

Sunday, June 10
American Legacies: The Preservation Hall Jazz Band and The Del McCoury Band

Wednesday, June 13
Melissa Etheridge

Mon. June 25
Wilco w/ Blitzen Trapper

Wilco’s “Born Alone”

Tuesday, June 26
Jimmy Cliff

Monday, July 2
The B-52s and Squeeze

Sunday, July 15
Brandi Carlile

Tuesday July 17
Josh Ritter

Thursday, July 19
Steve Martin & The Steep Canyon Rangers

Friday, July 20
Grace Potter & The Nocturnals

Friday, July 27
Al Green

Sun. July 29
Los Lobos and Steve Earle

Wednesday, Aug. 8
Diana Krall

Friday, Aug. 10
Colbie Caillat & Gavin DeGraw

Sunday, Aug. 12
Michael Franti & Spearhead

Mon. August 13
Gipsy Kings

Tuesday, Aug. 14
Andrew Bird w/ Amadou & Mariam


Andrew Bird performs “Eyeoneye” on The Colbert Report

Friday, Aug. 17
Dead Can Dance

Tuesday, Aug. 21
Norah Jones

Thursday, Aug. 23
Crosby, Stills & Nash

Sunday, August 26
Huey Lewis & The News

Tuesday, Aug. 28 & Wednesday, Aug. 29
Bonnie Raitt w/ special guest Mavis Staples


Bonnie Raitt performs "Something To Talk About"

Sunday, Sept. 2
Trombone Shorty & Orleans Avenue

Follow City Weekly music editor Austen Diamond on Twitter: @AustenDiamond 

  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post a comment
REPLY TO THIS COMMENT
Posted // April 11,2012 at 19:12

I have seen Bonnie Raitt twice and she is fabulous. The first time was during a four state blackout on the top of the Snowbird Lodge. It was just her, another guitarist and drummer and it was still the best concert I have ever been to!!!

 

 
 
Close
Close
Close