citylog
The E-
Edition:
CW
page
by page

Tumblr.jpg Google_Plus.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Sports Blog

Utah Roller Derby 2013

by Bill Frost
- Posted // 2013-04-10 - [Updated June 3] Your so-called local “sports media” is unaware that Utah women’s flat-track roller derby is has entered its ninth(!) year of existence behind the Zion Curtain. Here’s the 2013 schedule of local bouts they won’t bother to report on:

WRD.jpgWASATCH ROLLER DERBY
Salt Lake City’s formidable Wasatch Roller Derby closed out 2012 ranked ninth among the national Women’s Flat-Track Derby Association’s 40-plus Western leagues; this season, they’ve added a third home team, the Salt Flat Fallouts, to compete internally against the Hot Wheelers and Black Diamond Divas. Travel teams Midnight Terror and Bonneville Bone Crushers remain intact, as do affiliated rec league Red Rockettes, men’s league Uinta Madness and kiddie league Wasatch Junior Rollers. Bouts will be held at WRD’s Derby Depot (1415 S. 700 West, SLC) at 7 p.m. (unless otherwise noted). Info: WasatchRollerDerby.com, Facebook, Twitter.

Past > Saturday, Feb. 9: Black Diamond Divas vs. Hot Wheelers

Past > Saturday, March 9: Hot Wheelers vs. Salt Flat Fallouts

Past > Sunday, March 24 (10 am): Midnight Terror vs. Tucson Roller Derby (AZ)

Past > Saturday, March 30: Bonneville Bone Crushers vs. Happy Valley Derby Darlins (Spanish Fork)

Past > Saturday, April 13: Black Diamond Divas vs. Salt Flat Fallouts

Past > Saturday, May 4: Black Diamond Divas vs. Hot Wheelers

Past > Saturday, June 1: Hot Wheelers vs. Salt Flat Fallouts

Next > Saturday, June 15: Bonneville Bone Crushers vs. Ventura County Derby Darlins (CA)

Saturday, June 29: Black Diamond Divas vs. Salt Flat Fallouts

Saturday, July 13 (11 am-5 pm): WRD Picnic Scrimmage

Saturday, Aug. 14: Home Team Championships

Saturday, Oct. 12: Home Team Tournament


JCRD.jpgJUNCTION CITY ROLLER DOLLS
Ogden’s Junction City Roller Dolls have made some changes for 2013: Home teams Hilltop Aces, Railway Banditas and Aftershocks have seemingly been retired in favor of an all-travel-team format consisting of the longtime Trainwrecks and the new LocoMotives B-team. Also, this season’s bouts will all be held at the Golden Spike Events Center Exhibition Hall (1000 N. 1200 West, Ogden), with a couple in Salt Lake City at WRD’s Derby Depot. Info: JCRDolls.com, Facebook, Twitter.

Past > Saturday, March 23 (@ Derby Depot): Trainwrecks vs. Tucson Roller Derby (AZ) /  LocoMotives vs. Portneuf Valley Bruisers (ID)

Past > Saturday, April 27: Trainwrecks vs. WRD Bonneville Bone Crushers (SLC)

Past > Sunday, April 28: JCRD Picnic Scrimmage

Past > Saturday, May 25: Trainwrecks vs. Bakersfield Diamond Divas (CA) / LocoMotives vs. TBA

Next > Sunday, June 16 (10 am @ Derby Depot): Trainwrecks vs. Ventura VenDolls (CA)

Saturday, June 22: LocoMotives vs. Portneuf Valley Bruisers (ID)

Saturday, July 13: Trainwrecks vs. Castle Rock N’ Rollers (CO)

Saturday, Aug. 24: Trainwrecks vs. Happy Valley Derby Darlins (Spanish Fork) / LocoMotives vs. Grand Junction Roller Dolls (CO)

Sunday, Aug. 25: JCRD Picnic Scrimmage

Saturday, Sept. 28: Trainwrecks vs. Cheyenne CapiDolls (WY) / LocoMotives vs. Treasure Valley Roller Dolls (ID)

Saturday, Oct. 26: Trainwrecks vs.  FoCo Girls Gone Derby (CO) / LocoMotives vs. Flathead Valley Roller Derby (MT)


HVDD.jpgHAPPY VALLEY DERBY DARLINS
Updated: Received a full schedule from Spanish Fork’s impressive second-year league Happy Valley Derby Darlins; travel team Molly Morbids and home teams Rollin' Rebellion and Sirens of Steel are now joined by the new Daughters of Anarchy (DOA
—get it?). Until further notice, bouts will be held at Spanish Fork's former Food 4 Less, known for these events as the Roller Hive (784 E. Chapel Hill Road, just off I-15 and Main Street). Info: HappyValleyDerbyDarlins.com, Facebook, Twitter.

Past > Saturday, Feb. 23: Rollin’ Rebellion vs. Sirens of Steel

Past > Saturday, March 16: Daughters of Anarchy vs. Rollin' Rebellion

Past > Saturday, April 6: Daughters of Anarchy vs. Sirens of Steel

Past > Saturday, April 20: Molly Morbids vs. Durango Rollergirls (CO)

Past > Saturday, May 4: Daughters of Anarchy vs. Rollin' Rebellion

Past > Saturday, June 1: Daughters of Anarchy vs. Sirens of Steel

Next > Saturday, June 22: Molly Morbids vs. Boulder City Bombers (CO)

Saturday, July 6: Star-Spangled Beatdown

Saturday, Aug. 10: Rollin’ Rebellion vs. Sirens of Steel

Saturday, Aug. 24: Molly Morbids vs. Junction City Roller Dolls (Ogden)

Saturday, Sept. 21: HVDD Championships

Saturday, Oct. 5: Molly Morbids vs. Grand Junction Rollergirls (CO)

Saturday, Oct. 12: Home Teams Tourney

Saturday, Oct. 19: Halloween Bout: Zombies vs. Vampires


SCDG.jpgSALT CITY DERBY GIRLS
Utah’s pioneering roller-derby league returns in 2013 with five scheduled banked-track bouts at the Salt Palace (100 S. West Temple) in downtown Salt Lake City. Info: SLCDerby.com, Facebook.

Past > Saturday, May 18: Home teams TBA bout

Next > Saturday, July 6: Home teams TBA bout

Saturday, Aug. 24: Home teams TBA bout

Saturday, Sept. 14: Home teams TBA bout

Saturday, Oct. 5: Home teams TBA bout

  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post a comment
REPLY TO THIS COMMENT
Posted // February 12,2013 at 16:10

Don't forget that Salt Lake City is also home to a fantastic and thriving Recreational Roller Derby League, the Red Rockettes! Many Wasatch players have gotten their start through the Rockettes. We also offer an alternative for women who want to play roller derby, but who can't manage the time commitment of a competitive league.  

 

 
 
Close
Close
Close