Tuesday, November 9, 2010

Utah Roller Derby: 2010 Review

Posted By on November 9, 2010, 2:33 PM

click to enlarge blog2944widea.jpg
Updated Nov. 9: The 2010 Utah women's flat-track roller-derby season is over; the next begins early next year. ---

The Wasatch Front now has four women’s flat-track roller derby leagues (two in SLC, two in Ogden), and they all played locally throughout spring, summer and fall of 2010. Here's the year on wheels:

click to enlarge SCDG_Logo.jpg
The Salt City Derby Girls, Utah’s original roller derby league (and member of the national Women’s Flat-Track Derby Association), kicks off 2010 in April with an entire season of double-header home bouts at the Salt Palace in downtown SLC (see the new SCDG promo video):

Saturday, April 24: Sisters of No Mercy vs. Death Dealers / SCDG Allstar Shakers vs. Lava City Roller Dolls (Bend, Ore.) - Recap

Saturday, May 15: Sisters of No Mercy vs. Leave It to Cleavers / Bomber Babes vs. Death Dealers - Recap

Saturday, June 12: Bomber Babes vs. Leave It to Cleavers / SCDG Allstar Shakers vs. FoCo Girls Gone Derby (Fort Collins, Colo.) - Recap

Saturday, July 10: Leave It to Cleavers vs. Death Dealers / SCDG Allstar Shakers vs. AZRD Allstar Tent City Terrors (Phoenix, Ariz.) - Recap

Saturday, Aug. 28: Charity Bout vs. Junction City Roller Dolls (Ogden) @ Davis Conference Center, Layton - Recap

Saturday, Sept. 25: Bomber Babes vs. Sisters of No Mercy / SCDG Allstar Shakers vs. JCRD Allstar Trainwrecks (Ogden) - Recap

Saturday, Oct. 2: Mountain Throwdown @ Davis Conference Center, Layton - Recap

Saturday, Oct. 16: SCDG League Championship Bout - Recap


click to enlarge WRD_Logo.jpg
New SLC league Wasatch Roller Derby began its 2010 season Saturday, Feb. 6, and is now also a member of the WFTDA. The WRD sked:

Saturday, Feb. 6: WRD Charity Bout for Utah Parent Center @ Salt Palace - Recap

Saturday, Feb 27: WRD Allstar Midnight Terror vs. Treasure Valley Roller Girls (Treasure Valley, Idaho) @ Salt Palace - Recap

Saturday, March 13: WRD Double-Header Charity Bout for Huntsman Cancer Institute @ Salt Palace - Recap

Saturday, April 10: WRD Allstar Midnight Terror vs. Calgary Roller Derby (Alberta, Canada) @ Taylorsville Rec Center, Taylorsville - Recap

Sunday, June 13: WRD Allstar Midnight Terror vs. FoCo Microbruisers (Fort Collins, Colo.) @ Taylorsville Rec Center, Taylorsville

Saturday, June 26: WRD Allstar Midnight Terror vs. Slaughterhouse Derby Girls (Greely, Colo.) @ Taylorsville Rec Center, Taylorsville

Saturday, July 17: WRD Picnic Scrimmage @ Trailside Park (Park City)

Saturday, Oct. 9: WRD Allstar Midnight Terror vs. Pike’s Peak Derby Dames (Colorado Springs, Colo.) @ The Warehouse (1415 S. 700 West) - Recap


click to enlarge JCRD_Logo.jpg
Ogden’s Junction City Roller Dolls started their local season on Saturday, March 13, and are now a member of the WFTDA Apprentice Program. Junction City’s 2010 bout schedule (Charity Bouts: Portion of ticket sales will go to a charity to be announced before each game):

Saturday, March 13: Home Teams Charity Bout @ Davis Conference Center, Layton - Recap

Saturday, April 24: Home Teams Charity Bout @ Davis Conference Center, Layton

Saturday, May 22: JCRD Allstar Trainwrecks vs. Castle Rock & Rollers (Castle Rock, Colo.) @ Davis Conference Center, Layton - Recap

Saturday, June 5: Home Teams Charity Bout @ Golden Spike Arena, Ogden - Recap

Saturday, Aug. 28: Double-Header Charity Bout vs. Salt City Derby Girls (Salt Lake City) @ Davis Conference Center, Layton - Recap

Saturday, Sept. 25: JCRD Allstar Trainwrecks vs. SCDG (Salt Lake City) @ Salt Palace, SLC

Saturday, Oct. 2: Mountain Throwdown @ Davis Conference Center, Layton - Recap

Saturday, Nov. 6: Home Teams Charity Bout @ Davis Conference Center, Layton - Recap


click to enlarge OTown_Logo.jpg

Ogden’s O-Town Derby Dames return for a six-month season of charity expo bouts (benefiting the Marshall White Community Center at 222 28th Street, where the bouts will be played) in March. The schedule:

Saturday, March 27: Charity Expo Bout @ Marshall White Community Center, Ogden - Recap

Saturday, April 17: Charity Expo Bout vs. Wasatch Roller Derby @ Marshall White Community Center, Ogden

Saturday, May 15: Charity Expo Bout @ Marshall White Community Center, Ogden

Saturday, Aug. 21: Charity Expo Bout @ Marshall White Community Center, Ogden - Recap

Saturday, Sept. 11: Charity Expo Bout @ Marshall White Community Center, Ogden - Recap

Saturday, Oct. 2: Mountain Throwdown @ Davis Conference Center, Layton - Recap

Tags: , , , ,

Pin It
Favorite

More by Bill Frost

Comments (5)

Showing 1-5 of 5

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-5 of 5

Add a comment

© 2014 Salt Lake City Weekly

Website powered by Foundation